Attorneys-at-Law  /  Trademark & Patent Agents  /  Notaries Public

Location & Jurisdiction


Anguilla was discovered by Amerindian peoples who came by dugout canoes and rafts from South America's mainland. They called Anguilla "Malliouhana" which meant arrow-shape sea serpent and they developed villages, farms and ceremonial sites to their gods.

Evidence of these Amerindians as old as 3300 years has been found at the eastern end of Anguilla. Shell axes, conch shell drinking vessels, flint blades and stone objects from the pre-ceramic era have all been uncovered on Anguilla.

Christopher Columbus sailed by Anguilla is 1493 but never landed. During this time the Europeans changed the island's name from Malliouhana to Anguilla, for its long eel shape.

Meanwhile, the 1830's brought the union of St. Kitts -Nevis-Anguilla on Britain's recommendation -- a union protested by the majority of Anguilla's freeholders. Anguilla was allowed one freeholder representative to the House of Assembly on the Island of St. Kitts and was mostly neglected by the tri-island legislature.

In 1958, St. Kitts -Nevis-Anguilla became part of the Federation of the West Indies. The Federation collapsed in 1962, which resulted in individual constitutions for most islands St. Kitts -Nevis-Anguilla was made an associated statehood, a political decision that sparked the Anguilla Revolution. Anguilla wanted its independence from the state and the proposed union was not a viable option for the island.

May 30, 1967 is celebrated today as Anguilla Day. This day commemorates the repulsion of the Royal St. Kitts Police Force from the island. Britain intervened and a peacekeeping committee was established. Debates over Anguilla's succession continued to be negotiated for another decade until December 19, 1980, Anguilla became a separate Dependent Territory with some measure of autonomy in Government. December 19th is currently celebrated as National Heroes and Heroines Day (Previously called as “Separation Day”).
(Taken from the Government of Anguilla website)

Constitutional Status

British overseas territory. The Government of Anguilla follows the English “Westminster” system, whereby the Chief Minister is the head of government of a multi-party system and the Governor of Anguilla represents the Crown. The Executive determines government policy and supervises the administration of the main government departments (Ministries). The Anguilla Constitution Order 1982 (amended 1990) reserves power to the United Kingdom in the areas of external affairs, defence, internal security and the police.

The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

Legal System

Acts of the UK Parliament are not applicable in Anguilla unless they have been extended to Anguilla. The courts apply general principles of English common law and equity and the common law of Anguilla. Our primary legislation consists of statutes passed by the Anguilla legislature. The UK Government has also provided for Anguilla to be a signatory to, and bound by certain international conventions. Secondary legislation consists of statutory instruments made by Ministers with the approval of the Legislature.

Anguilla’s judicial system is administered by the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court with the appeal process culminating with the Privy Council. The Court is serviced by a number of fully qualified and experienced lawyers.

Taxation & Exchange Control

Both the Eastern Caribbean Dollar (EC$) and the United States Dollar (US$) are widely used. There is no exchange control, no taxes on savings and investment, profit, sales, capital gains or inheritance on citizens or corporation.

Regulation of Financial Services

There are regulatory statutes governing the principal financial services, including banking and deposit taking, insurance, investment business, trust business and collective investment schemes.

The Anguilla Financial Services Commission regulates financial services in Anguilla.

Bank Secrecy and Money Laundering

Anguilla does not have bank secrecy statutes. The banker-customer relationship is confidential, but it is subject to the common law relating to disclosure. The Anguilla banks and regulators have maintained “Know Your Customer” rules and the FSC has insisted on disclosure of the ultimate beneficial ownership of all Anguilla companies to the FSC, which is subject to strict secrecy rules. Anguilla amended its anti-money laundering legislation in 2009 to make up to date the legal framework to dissuade against AML/CFT offences.

Main Industries

Anguilla is commonly referred to as “Tranquility Wrapped in Blue”, given its turquoise seas washing some of the best beaches in the World, gracious and friendly people and peaceful crime-free community. Due to this reputation it has established itself as a high-end tourist destination and a fledging financial services centre.


Anguilla is a 35 square miles island in the Caribbean and is the most northern of the Leeward Islands. It is approximately 150 miles east of Puerto Rico and 5 miles north of St Martin/St. Maarten and is served by regular flights from international Caribbean gateways of St. Maarten, Antigua and Puerto Rico. Anguilla’s time zone is GMT minus four hours or Eastern Standard Time.

The Firm is located at the Law Building, The Valley, Anguilla. You will also find a detailed map of The Valley below and where we are located on the island.


  • Government of Anguilla — authoritative source of information about the
    departments and agencies of the Government, current information on policies
    and programmes and general information for prospective clients, visitors,
    students and investors.
  • Anguilla Laws Online — Electronic versions of Anguilla's Acts and Regulations are
    available for purchase from the Attorney General’s Chambers.
  • Registrar of Companies — Deals with all company formations and maintains the
    Official Registers as well as Anguilla Commercial Online Registration Network
    (ACORN) which enables instant and secure electronic incorporation and
    registration of Anguillian commercial entities.
  • Anguilla Tourist Board — Provides a wealth of information for visitors and
    potential visitors to the Island.
  • Anguilla Financial Service Commission — Responsible for the supervision,
    regulation and inspection of all financial services licensees operating in and from
  • Eastern Caribbean Central Bank— is the Monetary Authority for the
    Eastern Caribbean Currency Union, of which Anguilla is a part. Included in its overall responsibilities are supervision, regulation and inspection of financial institutions operating in the ECCU.

Anguilla Organisations

  • Anguilla Bar Association — Information about the association with lists of
    members and contact information for Anguillian law firms.
  • Anguilla Chamber of Commerce and Industry An independent body established by its members to make available resources for all registered businesses and to provide guidance to the prospective entrepreneurs on the establishment of a business.
  • Anguilla Financial Service Association — is a business organization comprised of legal and accounting firms, trust and insurance companies, company managers, commercial banks, and stock brokerage service providers and promotes Anguilla as an international financial services centre, in addition to representing its
    members on financial services regulatory issues.